I’m a Girl! by Yasmeen Ismail

image

Published by Bloomsbury, 2015.

I’ve got a bee in my bonnet about the gender stereotyping of children. I’m a Girl! is a breath of fresh air in a world crowded with pink princesses and brave adventurers in blue.

The girl in this story is spontaneous, intelligent, noisy, competitive and ambitious. She is a messy eater and races around everywhere. Much to her annoyance, she is continually mistaken for a boy.

I love how this book challenges preconceived ideas about what is “typical” behaviour for a girl or a boy. Its message is a powerful and important one – be true to yourself and be who you want to be.

Rating: 💙💙💙💙💙

Suitable for children aged 2+

I’m a Girl! has been shortlisted for the Little Rebels Children’s Book Award.

We borrowed this book from Solihull Libraries.

2 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.